I Can Read

I took a British Lit. class my sophomore year of college that truly beat out the love of reading in my soul. I used to LOVE to read. I’m a super fast reader, so it really never took long to move onto the next one. After that class… I loathed it. I really haven’t read a FULL book since then.  Sure, I read the trashy celeb magazines. US Weekly and Star kept me entertained and I LOVE the gossip. I would also start books and get about 1/3 of the way through and my brain would snap and I wouldn’t be able to read any more. It’s actually something that my Husband and friends make fun of me for NON-STOP.

Howeverby Tina Fey, I’ve been on a kick of celebrity autobiographies. A transition back into the world of real reading (well those and the Harry Potter series).  I was SUPER excited about Tina Fey’s new autobiography “Bossypants.” I’ve read Steve Martin’s, Carrie Fisher’s and Chelsea Handler’s autobiographies and thought they were funny and gave me more of an insight into their comedic minds. Plus, Tina Fey is one of my all-time favorite comedians of all time.

I downloaded “Bossypants” to Kindle on Tuesday (and had it forwarded to the app for my iPad) and DEVOURED it! Tina Fey is just the bee’s knees. I literally couldn’t put it down. I started around 10pm and didn’t stop until it was finished at 2:50am (but to talk to Becky for 10 minutes and “get ready” for bed). I adore that she and those adolescent wizards have brought back my love for reading. As I was reading the book while we were lounging then getting ready for bed, I would literally LOL. The husband was so confused because I hardly ever read. He really did not understand why I kept giggling.

Tina’s book (I’ll call her Tina from here on out, because I feel close like that with her now) was just delightful. Everything from her getting her first period to SNL to 30 Rock to contemplating a second child was in there. I’m actually excited to find out today that she announced on Oprah (which will air April 12th) that she’s 5 months pregnant with that second child. As a married lady contemplating having her first child, her little anecdotes on becoming a Mother were hysterical and awesome. I ADORE her prayer for daughter, Alice. Get it… read it… you can hear Tina’s voice in your head.

Part of what makes Tina’s good jokes into insightful commentaries is the way they draw on and expose an argument’s emotional core. In response to men who claim that women are not funny, as Chrisopher Hitchens argued in Vanity Fair, Tina writes, “My hat goes off to them. It is an impressively arrogant move to conclude that because you don’t like something, it is empirically not good. I don’t like Chinese food, but I don’t write articles trying to prove it doesn’t exist.” Her take on feminism is quite similar to mine.

So, I’m starting “Lauren’s Book Club.” It will be like Oprah’s… only trashier. First up, if you haven’t already read it, “Bossypants” by Tina Fey. I’m accepting suggestions for future books, but I know I want to read “Water for Elephants” even though I AM NOT A FAN OF ROBERT PATTINSON who portrays the main character in the movie version of the book that will be released on April 22nd. I think I’ll envision that character in my head to look like Jake Gyllenhaal instead…

So get ready, people… I can read.

One thought on “I Can Read

  1. Sounds like you’ve found your voice/blog. I loved “Water for Elephants” and I’m glad I read it with my own vision of the characters, not Hollywood’s. Another book I’d recommend is “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.” It’s a fictional tale about a British Island that actually was occupied by the Nazis during WWII.

    Like

Leave a Reply

