Catching Fire, Mockingjay & The Help

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately. My temp job is wonderful… And for the time it’s very helpful for productive personal downtime. So, I’ve read 4 books since Friday LOL.

“Catching Fire” and “Mockingjay” finish the “Hunger Games” series. Again, there were moments where I literally gasped at the events that unfolded over the two books.

I really want a pin of the Mockingjay that is features throughout the series…so if any of you readers out there find one, let me know ๐Ÿ˜‰

Katniss and Peeta get into loads of trouble in these books and it only makes me more excited to see how they are going to translate this to the big screen in the coming years… I just saw some photos from the set and WOW! Haymitch is going to be unbelievable to watch! LOL

However… I do feel the last 2 chapters or so of the final book were rushed and not as cohesive as the rest of the series. Still recommend them, though ๐Ÿ˜‰

Moments ago, I finished “The Help.” I actually saw a trailer for the movie when I went to see “Water for Elephants” with Chris and we both turned to each other and said we would see that when it came out. Then… Low and behold… It was a book first!

Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job of really placing you in Jackson, Mississippi. Every few chapters are written from the point of view of one of three characters. The first is Aibileen. Second is sassy Minny. The third is Skeeter. All three women in very different places of their lives. Aibileen is a woman who fiercely loves the children she watches, Minny talks back to every boss she has ever had and Skeeter is a young writer searching for her voice in word. Skeeter convinces the maids and housekeepers of Jackson with the help of Aibileen and Minny to tell their stories of working for the white women in Mississippi. Some stories are horrifying, some warm your heart and some just break your heart…

I really enjoyed the book. It’s very dramatic, and at times pretty funny. I can see where this is going to be a successful film in August. Can’t wait to see it now!

One thought on “Catching Fire, Mockingjay & The Help

Leave a Reply

