Holy Haven’t Posted In A While, Batman!

Well my friends, it’s been a while.  I completely got side tracked in my NYC recap and haven’t written in what is an obnoxiously long time.  Here’s what has happened since… and I promise that in the coming weeks I will be more present on here J

1.)    Our Franklin had to have some major surgery a little while ago.  He swallowed a squeaker and it got lodged in his intestine.  Due to the material of the squeaker, it never showed up in any x-rays until they gave him some medicine to help pass the gas that was building up in his little body.  Vets and pet lovers are trying to get dog toy companies to put a special lining in these squeakers so they are visible on x-rays, but who knows when that will happen.  The good news is, Franklin is well and back to being his old ornery self.  It was a very scary time for a few days when he was puking up blood, taken into surgery and recovering… we can’t imagine what it would be like without that little pooter…

Here Franklin is in the “Cone of Shame”

2.)    I won 2nd place in the Suncrest Kiwanis Chili Cook-Off for chili that I had never made before.  I took a combination of family chili recipes and then tweaked them with my own spin.  I brought in pot after pot of chili into work to be pre-judged and modified as the comments came in.  It was a LOT of fun and the trophy is freaking amazing.

2nd Place!

3.)    Our neighborhood garage sale is this coming Saturday and I couldn’t be more excited.  After “Organization Fest 2012… Part 1” we put all kinds of boxes of things downstairs to be donated… and they never were.  WHOOPS!  So we will have a TON of things to sell… and immediately after, whatever is not sold will be going to Christian Help, Goodwill, Ronald McDonald House, Heartland, etc.  I am so excited!  If you want to come out, most all of our neighborhood participates and there is everything from furniture to clothes to baby items to awesome randomness.  It’s from 8am to noon on Saturday, June 9th in the Hidden Point Community which is located at the top of S. Pierpont Rd near Nico Spalon.

4.)    Total since December, I’ve lost 43 pounds.  YES!

5.)    Nick is officially on summer break from school which is super exciting!  I think Franklin hasn’t adjusted to someone being home with him quite yet.

6.)    Work has been crazy. The Donor Relations team held 2 events (1 over 325 people, 1 over 340 people) within 24 hours of each other… now that those events are DONE… I’m slowly getting my office back from being a Def. Com. 5 Bunker and turning back into a “normal” human being.

I think that’s all for now.  Hope all is well with everyone else!  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

